Ingreso rápido:  

Forum: Music discussion

Tema: Hip-Hop/R&B/Soul Mixing for a club setting.

Este tópico es antiguo y puede contener información incorrecta para la nueva versión.

dabblinPRO InfinityMember since 2008
Oh My God. This forum has not one bit of useful information on this topic. I've been mixing these genres of music for 5 months now. Self taught by the way. I want to share the basic skills I have learned so that up coming nubbies can get to the gist of making phat mixes faster than it took me.

There is no one trick pony that works for all three genres. So I'll break things down based on each one. Starting with Hip-Hop. To get the best feeling out of the mixes I've noticed club crowds don't really feel the long drawn out mash-ups. A pure-cut to the next song keeps the crowd happy and dancing every time.

So I will drop my first cue point at the beginning of the track...even if there is just a boring intro of the rapper talking. This can be useful in the future if you need to make a mix CD for a friend. My second cue point is around the start of the first 8 beat phrase you find most Hip-Hop tracks. Visually it varies from song to song so you have to listen listen and listen to make sure you hear the correct 8 beat phrase. My Third cue point is set at the beginning of the first verse. Sometimes it can start with an vocal cue like "uh"...if you miss this vital part of the first verses 8 beats making loops later will sound like a mess. So isolate your second and third 8 beat phrases first. This is the key to taking that and making mash ups.

Once you have those 8 beat phrases try using the loop shortcuts on the keyboard. Bring up your second cue and press the number 5 gets you an 8 beat loop. Check out your loop. You'll know if it's solid cus it wont miss a single beat...or the loop will just feel perfectly right. Now its time to take that 8 beat loop and play it over some song on Deck B with the tempo matched.