Ingreso rápido:  

Forum: General Discussion

Tema: Question for serious DJs
Ok folks, here is my dilemma. I have a Vestax VCI 400 that I have been using since 2012, yeah I know! The reason that I got it was because it was marketed as "future proof". Well, it has been true to form and there is nothing that it can not handle. Even to this day. My wondering is, are there any things that I am missing by having such a "dated" controller? Thanks in advance for your input.

Mensajes Wed 14 Aug 24 @ 5:09 pm
By the way, the controller handles everything including STEMS, fx etc.

Mensajes Wed 14 Aug 24 @ 5:15 pm
(Possibly) unpopular opinion...if your goal is playing enjoyable music to your audience, then all you need is a way to play/blend two different sources of music. Everything else is just icing on top.
Before the DJ software revolution, people were literally riding their gear till the wheels fell off (Technics SL1200s, CDJs, some good enough mixer im between) and focused on getting music/being good on their equipment to make their audience enjoy the show to the best of their abilities.

The current DJ industry has gravitated to the use of DJ software with controller hardware and along the way, also created this artificial need to keep upgrading hardware in a short space of time due to "additions/improvements". In reality, given you are using software, most if not all of these hardware "additions/improvements" are mostly convenient access points to features that the software has introduced/presented in updates (e.g. stems buttons). You can choose if those added access points would make your workflow better/simpler, but the vast majority of hardware innovations are just improvements of workflow, you aren't missing out in terms of the goal, if you don't have the extras.