Ingreso rápido:  

Forum: Music discussion

Tema: An introduction (and a few questions)

Este tópico es antiguo y puede contener información incorrecta para la nueva versión.

Hello everyone, excited to be a new part of a community of what seems great guys (and gals).

I've just recently realized my profound interest in DJ'ing. I've been playing the drums for the last 16 years, love to party, and never really put two and two together until recently. I found virtual DJ and was instantly hooked on the home edition, so I decided to go out and pick up a controller in the form of the Hercules DJ console RMX. I love it so far and am essentially just doing basic mixes, effects, and loops with a couple tracks. Thanks to DJ-in-norway and Double O I've got a ton of solid information right off the bat.

A few of my questions are as follows:

My friend has asked me to DJ his one of his big house party's [approx 150-200 ppl (college town)]. I've read that music selection is often more important than crazy mixing skills, and also read about the "airplane flight" setup. Are simple crossfades (with a little EQ and beatmatching mixed in) for the beginning of the gig a good way to go? I have learned a few loop tricks that I'd probably bust out later on, but just dont know enough right now to do that for a 4 or 5 hours straight.

What is the preference, sitting of standing while mixing, and which gets more props?

Lastly, Does anyone transport a desktop around to do gigs, possibly with a nicer stand to accomodate it? I'm a mechanical engineering student in college and thought about custom fabricating my own stand down the road.

Regards,

EP-Worth

Mensajes Wed 09 Mar 11 @ 3:38 pm