Ingreso rápido:  

Forum: Music discussion

Tema: Im a beginner

Este tópico es antiguo y puede contener información incorrecta para la nueva versión.

I just got trial version of virtualdj. I want to try to be a dj.. .Where should i start? Give me some pointers plz

Mensajes Thu 20 Oct 05 @ 3:09 am
acw_djPRO InfinitySenior staffMember since 2005
For me these are the steps...

The first step is analyze your music so you get right BPMs in them.

The second step is use ±8% pitch so you don't abuse on pitch when you are learning to mix.
Use 2 songs that have the same BPM and try to mix them in the best place for you.

The Third step is to get the difference between sync mix and beat mix. It's hard for me to explain; with practice you can tell the difference. The sync mix is the way that mixes have to be done. (Sorry I can explain this better).

The fourth step is to up BPMs slowly... try +2% in a 130BPM to mix with another of 132BPM. If you need to slow down the second one, you may use less than -2% to get that. Try autobpm to see how it works and how the 2 song matches each other... avoid to use -8% pitch in one song and +8% (or more) to sync 2 songs. If you have to do that, is because this songs don't match. Force to match them will sound awful in much of times, really.

Much DJs stay and hour in 132BPMs and the mixes sound without "soul" without life... Is better to go up and down (from 128 to 130 and then 132 and 135 after; things like that) let’s say; up from any beat in an hour and down the next hour...

Good Luck!

Mensajes Thu 20 Oct 05 @ 3:29 pm
More tips: