Ingreso rápido:  

Forum: Old versions

Tema: can you help a newbie?

Este tópico es antiguo y puede contener información incorrecta para la nueva versión.

GaryBrPRO InfinityMember since 2006
Hi everyone.

I'm a newbie here, and i'm looking for some advice from you more experienced users.

I'm currently using VDJ at work on a clubs system and i've decided i want to buy my own laptop and copy of the software. Buying the software is the easy part, but i need some help with a suitable laptop.

I have about £800 - £900 to spend and i'm sure of some of the specs i need but unsure about others.

I'm hoping to get a machine with 256mb dedicated graphics card. I already have an external hard drive and soundcard.

One of the biggest things i'm having trouble with is processors. I think i want a dual core processor, but there seems to be a lot of different types. I'm not sure if its easier for you guys to tell me what i should get or what i should avoid.
Not only am i seeing processor speeds being quoted (ie. 1.6GHz, 2.0GHz etc, i'm seeing stuff like model T7200 and model T5500 etc)

I'm hoping to find a machine with 1GB ram that can be upgraded to 2MB at later date.

There is no recommeded or minimum spec i can see on this site for dual core processors, so i'm a bit confused as to what i should buy.

Also can anyone explain the difference between shared and dynamic graphics?

Ive been looking at these machines (listed below) what are your thoughtd, or can anyone reccommend something better? (I really don't want a Dell machine though)

HEWLETT PACKARD PAVILION DV9233
http://www.comet.co.uk/cometbrowse/product.do?sku=374482&tab=specification#spec

TOSHIBA A100-998
http://www.comet.co.uk/cometbrowse/product.do?sku=362182&tab=specification#spec

HEWLETT PACKARD PAVILION DV9292
http://www.comet.co.uk/cometbrowse/product.do?sku=374490&tab=specification#spec

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me on this!

Mensajes Mon 12 Feb 07 @ 12:09 am