Ingreso rápido:  

Forum: Old versions

Tema: Switching PC to Mac VDJ Setup?

Este tópico es antiguo y puede contener información incorrecta para la nueva versión.

I've been running VDJ with the original Hercules MK1 for about 3 years now. I recently bought a Macbook Pro (love it), and have been using my bootcamp (Windows XP) partition to run VDJ with the MK1 since the MK1 is not compatible with Mac.

I want to switch to the latest VDJ mac version and run it on OS X and would like your input on the best setup. I have considered purchasing the new Hercules RMX but is a little expensive (doesn't justify the switch). So as I try to think of a cheaper alternative...I was wondering if I could purchase a second sound card and run each of the two sound cards to channel 1 and 2 on my mixer?

I only use the MK1 to fade and pre-listen through my headphones. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Mensajes Mon 25 Aug 08 @ 11:25 pm
HiTowerPRO InfinityMember since 2007
The options depend on your budget. There are many ways to use VDJ on Mac. You're thought on getting another soundcard to use with your external mixer should work. You can use the card for sound, and manually map your MK1 for a controller. I believe other users have had success using the Maya 44 USB sound card. It's an inexpensive soundcard option. I believe it runs around $100. With this card, you can run VDJ through two channels on your mixer. For this setup, you would set the crossfader of the MK1 in the middle and set the crossfade option to scratch (this will set the crossfade curve to full on both channels). Then, you can use your external mixer to cue with your headphones and use the external mixer crossfader to switch between channels. Hope this helps. Good luck.

Mensajes Tue 26 Aug 08 @ 1:36 am
You have enough money for a Macbook Pro ($2000.00+) but you can't afford a Hercules RMX ($349.00)? That's like saying you bought a motorcycle but you can't afford a helmet.

Mensajes Tue 26 Aug 08 @ 3:43 am